Working Groups

Neogene and Quaternary Planktonic Foraminifera WG

The Neogene and Quaternary Planktonic Foraminifera Working Group follows the efforts of the Paleogene Planktonic Foraminifera Working Group, who were active for over 30 years and produced three comprehensive revisions of the taxonomy, phylogeny, and biostratigraphy of the Paleogene planktonic foraminifera (see references below). The Neogene and Quaternary Planktonic Foraminifera Working Group aims to establish an integrated and clear taxonomy for all Neogene and Quaternary planktonic foraminifera, which will include scanning electron microscope images of all holotypes and paratypes, where available. The work will also assess the biogeographic and stratigraphic distribution of all species, provide a synthesis of all available stable isotope palaeobiological data, and will permit the construction of a species level phylogeny that aims to integrate fossil and molecular data.

For any further information or to request to join the group please email the group chair and secretary:

Chair: Tracy Aze, University of Leeds, U.K. Email:
Secretary: Alessio Fabbrini, University College London, U.K. Email:


  • Olsson R.K., Berggren W.A., Hemleben C., & Huber B.T. (1999). Atlas of Paleocene Planktonic Foraminifera. Smithsonian Contributions to Paleobiology 85, 252 p.
  • Pearson P.N., Olsson R.K., Huber B.T., Hemleben C., & Berggren W.A. (2006). Atlas of Eocene Planktonic Foraminifera. Cushman Foundation Special Publication 41, 514 p.
  • Wade B.S., Olsson R.K., Pearson P.N., Huber B.T., & Berggren W.A. (2018). Atlas of Oligocene Planktonic Foraminifera. Cushman Foundation for Foraminiferal Research 46, 528 p.


Name Email address Affiliation
Tracy Aze (Chair) University of Leeds, U.K.
Alessio Fabbrini (Secretary) University College London, U.K.
Flavia Boscolo-Galazzo MARUM, Universität Bremen, Germany
Anieke Brombacher University of Southampton, U.K.
Gert Jan Brummer Royal Netherlands Institute for Sea Research (NIOZ), Netherlands
Lucilla Capotondi ISMAR-C.N.R., Italy
Helen Coxall Stockholm University, Sweden
Martin Crundwell GNS Science, New Zealand
Barry Fordham Australian National University, Australia (retired)
Luca Foresi University of Siena, Italy
Morana Hernitz Kucenjak INA - Industrija nafte, d.d. Rock & Fluid Analysis, Zagreb, Croatia
Brian Huber Smithsonian Museum of Natural History, U.S.A.
Chloe Jones University of Southampton, U.K.
Lukas Jonkers MARUM , Universität Bremen, Germany
David King University College London, U.K.
Michal Kucera MARUM , Universität Bremen, Germany
Adriane Lam Binghamton University, U.S.A.
Grace Lamyman University of Leeds, U.K.
Marcin Latas University College London, U.K.
Mark Leckie University of Massachusetts Amherst, U.S.A.
Fabrizio Lirer University Sapienza of Rome, Italy
Raphael Morard MARUM , Universität Bremen, Germany
Paul Pearson Cardiff University, U.K.
Maria Rose Petrizzo University of Milan, Italy
Vikram Pratap Singh Indira Gandhi National Tribal University, India
Vlasta Premec Fucek INA - Industrija nafte, d.d., Rock & Fluid Analysis, Zagreb, Croatia
Marina Rillo University of Oldenburg, Germany
Marci Robinson US Geological Survey, U.S.A.
Weimin Si Brown University, U.S.A.
Christopher Smart University of Plymouth, U.K.
Silvia Spezzaferri University of Fribourg, Germany
Ellen Thomas Yale University, U.S.A.
Elena Turco University of Parma, Italy
Bridget Wade University College London, U.K.
Tirza Weitkamp Stockholm University, Sweden
Adam Woodhouse University of Texas at Austin, U.S.A.

Langhian and Burdigalian GSSPs WG

Working Group information coming soon!